Chili if You’re Chilly

My all time favorite white chicken chili recipe is from the website, “Lovely Little Kitchen.” The recipe varies by how much chicken I put in but I make sure to make the corrections through MyFitnessPal app so I can simply add it when I collect my serving. It’s so easy to do, just remind yourself to measure everything and write it down!

I first measure the empty crock pot, and mine is 2,468g (don’t ask me why I use grams, it’s just easiest for me). Then I measure how much chicken I’m going to put it and record that, which ended up being 21.75oz (uncooked). Then, after I add all the ingredients, I measure how much the crockpot is again, which ended up being 4,307g. To finalize everything, the recipe I use says that it makes 6 servings so I do the following math: 4307-2468 (you can’t eat the crock pot so you must subtract that from the weight of the chili)=1842. 1,842g is the weight of the chili so I divide it by the 6 servings and now I know that each time I want to have a serving of the chili I should measure out 307g of it. I hope this makes sense to you; I am not a math person but I figured that this made the most sense and so decided to stick with it!

The recipe I use is below. Feel free to get creative with toppings: shredded cheese, sour cream, crushed tortilla chips or even add in some green chilis to give the chili an extra kick! Whatever it is, make it your own.

chili2

White Chicken Chili:
6 Servings

3-4 boneless chicken breasts, uncooked
1.5 tsp chili powder
.5 tsp onion powder
.5 tsp garlic powder
dash of cayenne powder
14.5 can chicken broth (about 1.5-2 cups)
1 can of sweet corn (if you like a lot of corn add 2 but I like more chicken)
2 cans of white beans (I use Cannellini from Kroger)

Add all to crockpot and cook on low for 6-8 hours or high for 3-4 hours.

About an hour before serving:
In a saucepan melt 2 tbsp of butter, then add 3 tbsp of flour. Allow that to brown and get fluffy. Then add 1 cup of milk. Allow the sauce to simmer for 3-4 minutes, whisking frequently until it slightly thickened, then add to the crockpot. This allows the chili to become an actual chili and less like a soup. After an hour, indulge and enjoy!

chili3

 

Leave a comment